Summer Must-Haves

5summerhave

Until I went to England for university, I never realized how strictly America’s seasons were correllated with school holidays.  Sure, Americans look for any excuse to celebrate and take a day off from work and school.  A president was born?  Holiday!  Some people may have had a meal with native Americans?  Holiday!  Important document was signed?  Holiday!

Summer begins with memorial day at the end of May.  I’m told that most students have finished the school year by then.  Never having done so myself, I’m in no position to corrobborate this fact.  Regardless, Memorial day celebrations (a bank holiday, naturally) invite all that is good about summer into our lives.  Be it cookouts, beach trips or summer Fridays, it all starts at the end of May.  Then, the summer progresses and people get hot, complain and look forward to the end.  Once is arrives with September and Labor day, however, everyone realizes that they aren’t quite ready to return to how things were.  The kids are back in school, or on their way back.  The sun has begun to set earlier and you can no longer eat ice cream with reckless abandon.  Yes, the American year isn’t measured by January and December, but rather by September and May.

Above, I’ve compiled a little list of what I believe to be the essential summer items.  The things that you must have with you in order to survive the heat, avoid boredom on car trips and not turn the color of the lobster in your lobster roll.  Enjoy!

What are your summer necessities?

5 thoughts on “Summer Must-Haves

    1. Emilia Post author

      Thanks! Definitely do read The Old Patagonia Express, I’m in the middle of it right now and loving it, let me know what you think when you pick it up 🙂

      Reply
      1. preconcept

        I read the portuguese version preface – And loved it, but want to read it english so I still did to buy the book – but I love Theroux so it has to be good! I will let you know my thought after reading it though 😀

  1. Afancywindowseat

    This summer, my Topshop dungarees, Sparkling water with fruits and Cool Lime Refreshers from Starbucks have been my saving grace. If you haven’t read The Art of Travel by Alain de Botton, I think you just might like it x

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      I completely agree with sparkling water with fruits, this summer has been such a scorcher! I’ll definitely put The Art of Travel on my to-read list, thanks for the recommendation 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

