Brooklyn Roasting Company in DUMBO

Espresso and Cappuccino

I wish I could tell you that I was better at exploring my city.  I wish I could tell you that I was clued in to new openings, must-see places and delicious new restaurants.  I’m not.  Not even close.  Movies?  Forget about it.  Television?  No idea.

Yet, I feel like I should have known about Brooklyn Roasting Company before now.  Please accept my apologies for not sharing this with you sooner.  We could have been enjoying great coffee in DUMBO all this time!  How did we miss this?

Brooklyn Roasting Company is past the Manhattan bridge and tiny walk from all the hub-bub of Water Street and Brooklyn Bridge Park.  That’s a good thing.  DUMBO is an amazing, beautiful and utterly New York neighborhood, but on the weekends and evenings it grows stuffy and crowded.  We don’t want that, not right now.  We want to experience the New York of people who roll out of bed and grab their bike.  The New York of people who are eating bagels for breakfast, going to yoga and working on Sunday.

The café is deceptively huge.  As soon as you walk in, you see three tall tables facing large windows, a huge rectangular serving area and a menu board.  Beyond the bar, there are several picnic/lunchroom tables in the back around the roasting area and the offices.  It’s intensely cool and goes right back to DUMBO’s warehouse roots.

Manhattan Bridge

The menu is quite extensive with basic drinks, single origin espressos and the option to have any basic espresso beverage made with one of the single origin coffees.  Unlike other coffee shops, they don’t charge extra for having a drink make with a single origin variety.

I dragged my parents there on Sunday morning and we managed to taste a disturbing portion of the menu.  My dad got a cortado, my mother a cappuccino.  We mistakenly ordered a single-origin sumatra espresso and then I went back and ordered a macchiato made with the Mexican coffee.  Luckily, Brooklyn Roasting Company is cheaper than other coffee shops.  A macchiato cost $2.50.

The macchiato was fantastic and deserves a spot in New York’s noisette hall of fame.  My dad thought his cortado was too large.  My mom enjoyed her cappuccino and said it was a proper one, which, for her, meant it could have used less milk.  The espresso, while good, was quite unexpected and shall not be discussed here today.

Brooklyn Roasting Company is a fantastic find in DUMBO.  In a neighborhood this lovely and that cool, it’s a shame and surprise that there aren’t more coffee shops to keep the denizens fueled.  Perfect after breakfast from Almondine, but don’t take my word for it.  Go try it yourself.

How do you keep up to date on everything that is going on in your city?

2 thoughts on “Brooklyn Roasting Company in DUMBO

    1. Emilia Post author

      Hey there, thanks for stopping by! I’m loving your blog as well, those homemade larabars look delicious. 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

