Danish Sandwich Cookies or Hindbærsnitter

Hindbaersnitter

Ever since I ate the pop tart cookie at Torvehallerne Market in Copenhagen, I’ve been obsessed.  Sure, I may swear to love chocolate and claim that raisins can take any dessert from good to great, but that cookie stuck in my mind like no other.  I was looking for a perfect lunch to cap off my birthday weekend.  My meal was good — a classic smørrebrod — but the dessert stole the show.  Two thick and crumbly sugar cookies sandwiched together with thick jam and a toothsome pink glaze.

The cookie immediately went to the top of my must-bake list.  Even without a recipe, it’s easy to recreate in your own kitchen, as all the components are easily identifiable and straight forward.  To have the most authentic version possible, however, I searched for a recipe.  Since I didn’t know the name of the cookie, I searched in vain for quite some time for ‘danish sandwich cookie’ or ‘danish dessert’ only to realize that Google thought danish meant the pastry and not something from Denmark.  Ugh.

Cookie from Laura's Bakery

The cookies are called hindbaersnitter (sometimes written as hindbaer snitter), a name which I have no idea how to pronounce.  According to Gitte at My Danish Kitchen, the cookie is extraordinarily popular and can be found at nearly every bakery in Denmark.  Knitted Cakes goes further, arguing that most Danes would choose the sandwich cookie any day over cake and that all Danish bakeries must offer it to even be described as a bakery.  I agree on both accounts.

The individual components aren’t difficult to make, but the skill is sandwiching together the two layers.  I halved the recipe and cooked the cookie layers in two separate 8×8 pans lined with parchment paper.  It worked perfectly for the bottom layer, but proved tricky for flipping the top layer onto the bottom.  If you’re making a half batch, I would recommend rolling them out onto a large baking sheet, cutting and then flipping the top onto the bottom.

All the recipes may call for seedless raspberry jam, but I shook things up and chose cherry jam.  Great choice!  Although I added the glaze (confectioner’s sugar with water) onto the back of the hot cookie, I would recommend letting them cool for about 5 minutes before applying the glaze.  In total, my cookies cooled for about 15 minutes before cutting them, a time which worked quite well.

After eating my first hindbaersnitter in Copenhagen, I was ready to proclaim it as my favorite dessert.  After making them, well, I think they’ve moved into first place.  Bonus?  The homemade version tasted nearly exactly like the one I ate in Denmark!  Perhaps it was the Danish butter?

The recipe I used was the Hindbaersnitter from My Danish Kitchen.  It’s a fantastic website for all your Danish baking desires.  I also used their recipe for rugbrød and loved it!

The recipe from Knitted Cakes also looks great.  I might have to try it sometime soon.  Aren’t you impressed with the shapes of her cookies?!

If you are intensely cool and speak Danish, why not try out this recipe from Arla?

And here’s a video recipe in Danish so we can pretend to understand what’s going on and be in awe of how he rolls out the cookie.

Do you like to recreate the foods you sampled while traveling?

One thought on “Danish Sandwich Cookies or Hindbærsnitter

  1. Pingback: 22 Things for 22 | Emilia Lives Life

Have a comment?

