Summer Reading Recap

Bologna

No matter what I accomplish during the summer, I am left with the lingering sensation that I could have done more.  If only I had managed to make one more smoothie, eat one more ice cream or wear that white dress one more time!  Unfortunately, summer ends and we reunite with our riding boots and thick sweaters.  Iced coffee gives way to hot chocolate and we trade beach songs for Christmas carols.

Okay, so maybe I don’t mind that last bit so much.

We discussed summer reading earlier in the season and, I’m ashamed to say, I read barely any of the books on that list.  I did read some stunners, but my summer was dominated by working my way through my back log of paper back swap books.  Here are the top five books I read this summer, in no particular order.

1.  The Mother Tongue by Bill Bryson – If you speak or are learning English, you must read this book.  It’s a fantastic romp through the language, discussing why it’s unique and examining at it’s transformation across the ages.  You’ll learn some random facts that you’ll be pulling out for months afterwards.

2.  Rules of Civility by Amor Towles – Historical fiction books are pretty hit or miss for me; fortunately, this one belonged to the former category.  Set in New York during the late 1930s, Rules of Civility follows the lives of three friends who meet ones New Years Eve over a year.  The book surprises on every page and creates characters that feel as if they could live in any era.

3. Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walters – Not only is the plot gripping, Walter effortlessly weaves together an astonishing variety of stories. From Italy in the 1960s to modern day LA, the book discusses love and struggles through the ages, without once feeling like it’s biting off more than it can chew.

4. Tribes by Seth Godin – Talk about inspiring; this svelte volume discusses how we need to choose to become leaders in our respective fields, regardless of whether or not we think we are the “leader type.”  Godin’s words are empowering and will no doubt have you eager to go out into the world and create change.

5.  The Life and Time of the Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson – Now, I wonder how big the audience is for this book, but if you are a kid of the ’50s (specifically a male one) or the child of someone from the ’50s then you will love this.  The book felt like a story my dad would have told me as a kid with a pinch of A Christmas Story thrown in for good measure.

What was the best book you read this summer?

8 thoughts on “Summer Reading Recap

  1. emilygotta

    I feel the same! I always wish for a little more time!

    A couple of the books I enjoyed most this summer were ‘Love in the Time of Chloera’ by Gabriel Garcia Marquez and ‘Crusoe’s Daughter’ by Jane Gardam. Would certainly recommend both of them. I’ve been wanting to read Beautiful Ruins…glad to hear someone liked it!

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Crusoe’s Daughter looks fantastic, I’ll definitely be checking it out soon. Let me know what you think when you read Beautiful Ruins! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Afancywindowseat

    O gosh, this reminds me of how disappointed I am by my reading efforts this summer. I feel like life got in the way and took away the time usually devoted to this little pleasure, but now I’ve started reading on the bus to and from work and it is such a lovely part of my day.

    I also read Beautiful Ruins but found it disappointing. I loved how it started off, but found the characters incredibly irritating and the plot a bit too ‘comical’ for my taste, but I liked reading a varying opinion and quite like the sound of the Tribes and Rules of Civility, from your little reviews.

    Reply
  3. Red Tag Couture

    I can relate to those end of summer feelings. Looks like you did some good reading. I have been wanting to read Beautiful Ruins. A friend recently recommended it to me. I think I’ve been too busy eating ice cream cones this summer! Have a great holiday weekend?

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Haha, ice cream eating is definitely a good thing to be busy with during summer! You can always read when chilly winter temps stop by. A cup of hot chocolate is always a good reading buddy 😉

      Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Awesome! I must say, I think it would be hard not to be a fan of Bill Bryson.

      Love your tip, I’m definitely putting ‘pumpkin pie’ on my fall bucket list. 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

