Little Zelda in Crown Heights

Cortado

Do you ever just get fixated on something? I do.  There’s no rhyme or reason for these fixations.  They’re ideas, products or goals that I come across in my daily routine.  For a while there it was Monocle Magazine, I had that phase with microwave muffins and I’m currently in the grips of Scandinavia fascination.

Little Zelda was one of those cafés that, for no real reason, I just became so intrigued with that I had to go.  It’s not a particularly convenient neighborhood and the reviews for it weren’t glowing, but I got it into my head that it would be a cute café and a pleasant experience so I went.  Maybe it was the name, maybe it was the adventure aspect that pushed me over there.

Both the cafe and the coffee exceeded my expectations.  The cafe is teeny-tiny and narrow is definitely the proper word to describe it, but the decor is charming and the location so surprising that it makes up for any interior decorating defects.

The coffee was Stumptown and left few surprises as to how it tasted.  Each sip of the cortado tasted thick with a chocolatey aftertaste and slightly acidic bite.  It was good, not the best you’ll ever have, but much better than whats on offer at surrounding cafés.  The cappuccino was good with a nice balance that made you want to take down the coffee in hearty, hungry gulps.  You’re decision if that’s a good or a bad thing.

Little Zelda is adorable and the perfect spot for a lazy afternoon or morning coffee.  You might not want to drag you entourage, but if you need a spot for some quiet reflection, you’ve found your place.  The pastries and sweets also looked delicious; what’s a little quiet reflection without a sweet treat, right?

What’s one thing that fascinates you right now?

One thought on “Little Zelda in Crown Heights

Have a comment?

