What should a student never, ever do?

IMG_0690

Confession: I am a bad student.

No, it’s not that I didn’t do my homework, that’s been done for a few days. I’m working my way through readings — including some additional books — highlighting and taking notes as I go.  Yes, I make go to all of my classes and, no, I would never skip a 9 am lecture just because it was too early.

Why am I a bad student then?

I don’t do and, in a few cases refuse to do, the typical student-y things.  Walking past the endless queues of first and second years waiting to get into clubs leaves me uncomfortable.  They’ll enjoy have  a proper student night out, while I’ll be at home with a cup of mint tea, reading a book in bed. They may be judging me, mistaking me for a twenty-something Bristol resident as opposed to their peer.

IMG_0685

In the student universe, there are several unspoken rules that govern how we think, feel and act.  It’s commonly agreed that mornings always come to early, that midnight is a sacred time for facebook and that skipping class after a crazy night out is okay.  The consensus says that vegetables are too expensive, pasta with sauce is a meal and  that coffee isn’t something to spend money on, but rather a tool to fuel cram sessions.  All students must be permanently sans money, apathetic and perfectly content to spend Sunday at home watching television.

All students except for me.

After coming back from my year abroad, the ways that I don’t fit into the typical student mold are more pronounced.  Sometimes I support these stereotypes that I don’t agree with simply because they are so ingrained into our cultural notion of studentdom that I feel bad for breaking away.  When a housemate with a 9 am lecture wanders blearily into the kitchen, complaining about mornings, I laugh and agree.  I laugh and agree while giving a careful stir to my pumpkin oatmeal, having already done some yoga and read the headlines that morning.  It’s the weakest form of agreement.

I’m sick of the stereotype of students. We need to broaden it.

IMG_0682

Yes, students can enjoy sleeping late and may prefer to spend their Sundays watching television; however these traits aren’t student characteristics, but personalities that accompany people beyond their time at university. Students are as diverse as any other group, except for the fact that the vast majority are between the ages of 18-22.

During one of our introductory language lectures, a professor told us to celebrate our individuality.  After a year in Italy, where students were judged by their ability to regurgitate dates as opposed to think, the idea was so shocking and so welcome that I could barely hear it.  Celebrating our individuality means both our interests and our habits.  Just because you don’t fit the student stereotype, doesn’t sacrifice your identity as a student.

What about you? Did/do you fit a student stereotype? How would you describe the typical student?

One thought on “What should a student never, ever do?

  1. kukolina

    May I ask how old you are Emilia. Your name is Emilia, right? 🙂

    I do not know anything about your university but when I was at uni some things were taken seriously simply because it was so hard to get in to classes not to mention getting excepted to the school I applied and eventually went to.

    But of course partying was typical. Going out on Thursday nights was the minimum. Many did not show up on Fridays…

    I loved partying which meant dancing (to me) and meeting others (while I was single).

    We had weeks of not studying and weeks of non-stop studying before exams.

    The typical student of psychology was someone with an ego that did not allow participating actively in “group games” that were meant to demonstrate how to work with patients or how to work on yourself (self-knowledge). I was always the one who volunteered to try out what the teachers suggested.

    So in other sense I was not typical at all! Oh and I lived with my grandmother and after she passed away I lived on my own. Most of my classmates were sharing flats or they were living at home. Which is very much typical in Eastern Europe. Christmas was always a complicated story for me….

    xoxo, Eszter
    http://kukolina.wordpress.com/2013/10/11/beauty-pageant-at-the-hotel/

    Reply

Have a comment?

