Cardamom Bun Oatmeal

Cardamom Bun
I could easily eat oatmeal for breakfast, lunch and dinner if I didn’t feel an obligation to use the fancily cheap pots and pans I bought from Wilkonson’s.  On a cold winter’s morning, or damp autumn one, there’s nothing quite like a bowl of steaming hot cereal.  During second year, I had my recipe for raspberry and yogurt oatmeal down to a science, but I’m mixing it up this time around.  There’s no more microwaving my morning meal, which has drastically improved it.

Cinnamon and oatmeal are two flavors that were made for each other.  Add some honey in there and you’ve got a flavor party.  I might even go wild and throw in a handful of raisins.  If this pairing is so successful, why not take it a step further and infuse it with cardamom?  Thanks to the ground cardamom I got from Coop in Stockholm, that’s exactly what I’ve done.  The flavor is uncannily similar to a real bun and something you’ll be happy to indulge in everyday of the week.

Or for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  I won’t judge.

Cardamom Bun Oatmeal

Cardamom Bun Oatmeal serves one

1/2 cup oats

1 cup cooking liquid (I use water, but you could use any milk or a combination of the two)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon cardamom, divided

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 Tablespoons raisins

2 teaspoons honey

Optional: almond butter, yogurt, flaked almonds, any topping you’d like!

1. Put your oatmeal and water in a pan and cook until it begins to boil.

2.  Add in cinnamon, half the cardamom, raisins and vanilla.  Cook until it reaches your desired consistency.

3. Take off from heat, put in your bowl and sprinkle with the other half of the cardamom.  Drizzle with honey and any other toppings you’d like.

4. Grab a spoon and enjoy!

Do you like oatmeal?  What’s your favorite way to prepare it?

Have a comment?

